I know June is over, but really, can it be July already?  This bunch was hastily put out to welcome a group of visiting Texan musicians to Evensong and a Cream Tea. Taken from my garden I think it shows Summer is here after all.

cream tea 001 Looking back over my jobs list I see that June was rather busy in the garden with a predominant requirement for weeding.  Nettles seem to have crept through the undergrowth and suddenly emerged at hip height, alongside the herbaceous plants, as if to be admired; sticky weed has swamped unsuspecting shrubs, lounging across its branches like some spineless teenager, self-supporting clearly out of the question; bind weed has twisted itself carefully along the new shoots of the hardy fuschias,  quietly strangling them while no one is looking; ground elder has weaved its white brittle roots into the root systems of any nearby plant, pushing through their flat ugly green leaves, tarnishing the look of its neighbour.

Looking at my own space I see that June has happened and Summer is here!  Hoorah!

Below is ‘Gertrude Jekyll’.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Foxgloves, Astrantia, Houseleek, Roses and Honeysuckle. An old fashioned and rather pink selection.