Tags

, , , ,

blue

I love the colour this homeowner has painted their front door and how it coordinates with the Magnolia.  Happy coincidence or careful consideration ? Either way I think it looks great.

Flowers that have caught my eye this week are the periwinkle  Vinca minor ‘Atropurpurea’  This is a great ground cover even on thin soil on a bank.
blue 010The earliest of Tulips Tulipa Turkestanica which open and close with the sunlight.  Planted here in a stone trough with the purple spurge Euphorbia amygdaloides ‘Purpurea’

blue 003All the spurges look bright at this time of year and I especially like the sight of rain on the foliage.  This Euphorbia is only a year old and will reach up to 1.5m when it gets going. It is the majestic Euphorbia characias subsp wulfenii.

blue 004

Who can resist Grape Hyacinth, Muscari armeniacum.  The angle of this shot amuses me as the blooms appear to be gigantic and advancing.`

blue 006

Finally another blue favourite is the delicate bloom from the  Hepatica Nobilis var. Japonica. This is a piece taken from that lovely walled garden in Winslow. Thanks Liz.

blue 009This has been a busy week and I feel that digwithdorris has been neglected. Well reader I have already planned my in a vase on Monday so please do take a look again next week.  Forecast is for a rather chilly edge to the sunshine so best wrap those seedlings, just in case. Have a good weekend ye all.