Tags

, ,

Today has been a bright crisp Winters day, perfect for the arrival of my new tree.

I visited Majestic trees in Flamstead, http://www.majestictrees.co.uk a couple of weeks ago with the intention of choosing a pair of small native trees for my garden.  Once there, I was spoiled for choice and had my heart stolen by a multi-stemmed Birch. Budget busting I settled for the one tree and as the tree was in a 200L pot I needed the tree delivered and planted for me.

Anyway today’s the day it arrived.  Here is picture progress of its planting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

The tree is Betula albosinensis “Fascination” in multi stem form.  I chose it for a number of reasons mainly because of the colour of its bark, a coppery, pink grey peeling bark which will shine out in the dark Winter months.   It gets catkins in the Spring before fresh small birch leaves arrive for the Summer.  The leaves will turn to a rich golden yellow for an  Autumn show.  I also really like the outline shape of the canopy which is broadly conical.  Eventual height is 6 to 10 meters.

Now planted, I am really happy with it and can begin planning the next phase.

I hope you all have a good weekend and that the sunshine stays.

Me?  I will be found gazing at my tree.  Perhaps I shall have to give a name?!