Tags

, , , ,

Sandra at https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/photo-challenge has set up a meme  which appeals to me; her challenge is to post a photograph which ties in with the subject set.  This week the subject is Winter.

‘Winter’ to me conjures up images of snow and ice, bright blue skies perhaps with sparkling frosts.  This Winter has been very different, we have had mild, wet and windy weather, for weeks.  I was tempted to dig out a snowy scene from previous years but felt that was not quite right.  I looked at some of the sodden grey shots I have taken of the garden this month but found them, well just too grey.

Instead I have looked through some of the snaps I took on the rare frosty bright days that we had last week.  The morning sunlight seemed to pull a curtain back through the gloom to reveal the beauty of plants, in this case Christmas Box.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sarcococca hookeriana humilis

I love the way the frost is clinging to the perimeters of the leaves and how, where the light catches the crystals of ice, they twinkle slightly.  The white flowers were just beginning to open but the cold seemed to have stopped the heavenly scent in its tracks.

As I write this the wind is howling down the chimney and the rain is moving closer.  Good luck to those of you further North, especially in Scotland, your forecast is not looking good.