Tags

, , , , ,

Here on the edge of the Chilterns, flint is commonly found in the chalky soil. I am most familiar with it in the ground and so  I was interested to see flints in the cliff face at a recent visit to Ramsgate.

P4214909.JPG

I find these very attractive and interesting.  I photographed this particular piece as I loved its shape and colour.

 

 

P4214905.JPG

Flint occurs in sedimentary rock (remember those?) usually chalk such as these cliffs at Ramsgate.

P4214907.JPG

The flints form thin layer upon layer between the chalkly, sedimentary rocks.  Shown insitu where the chalk has been washed away by the sea, the flints were visible in clear rows or layer.

So here is my layer as part of the 52 week photo challenge for this week. Take a look at https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com to see a selection of different layer.