Tags

, , , , ,

Pteridomania. That is what I want to say to you.

Pteridomania or fern-fever.

Pteridomania is what the Victorians caught.

The Victorians were obsessed with ferns and used the motif to decorate everything: glass, pottery, textiles and wallpaper.  Perhaps it was the history of ferns that caught their imagination or maybe it was the link back to the age of the dinosaurs that made them love them so.  More likely, in my view, it was simply because they are one of the most beautiful species of plant.

I have a whole batch of fern photographs that I have taken over the last few years, perhaps I am suffering with a case of pteridomania.

Copy of IMG_1259

Harts Tongue Fern, Asplenium scolopendrium

The photo challenge is hosted by Sandra at https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com

Take a visit to her blog to see some other ferns.  Me? I am off to look for …..