Tags

, , , , ,

Sorry but today the view is this:

I suppose it does coordinate with the geums? Anyway, I must just ask how on earth can it be almost the end of May? Perhaps it is because I am fast approaching old duffer status or perhaps it is just that this time of year is so busy in the garden.

Heavy rain followed by bursts of warm sunshine and everything is growing like crazy.  The grass needs cutting, hedges need trimming, topiary needs clipping and the weeds need pulling out before they take over. ‘Boring’, I hear you cry, boring indeed but essential if I am to stop the garden reverting to a field.

thistles and buttercups

As I walk around I feel like shouting ‘hold on’ let me just look a minute.

Everything is looking healthy, granted, but there is a lot of upheaval as Rian and his team are putting in a path and patio for me.  The final section of the plan is coming together which is exciting however there is that feeling that the garden is not mine whilst sand, cement mixers and shovels dominate the space.

stuff

Yet things are happening in a pretty way too.  The Alliums are coming to their end yet it seems only a few weeks ago since I placed the bulbs carefully in the soil.

Allium Purple Sensation

Roses are beginning to open their soft delicate petals and I am looking forward to working in their midst to breathe in their wonderful perfume.

Rose Gertrude Jekyll

The pincushion like flowers of Astrantia are open and should be flowering now for most of the Summer.

Astrantia Roma and visiting bee

That is it for today’s view,  a blocked view thanks to the builders essential stuff. Not for long and it will be lovely to have the work completed.  For a more tranquil view today take a look at the view belonging to cathy the host of this meme.

Totally Not forgetting Geum Totally Tangerine